Light… 3,956.87 miles to go

I think it’s fair to say we can see the light at the end of the tunnel!  Despite being weeks away from having Rod home again, I’m trying to stay grounded and prayful because he’s not out of the dangerous woods yet.  This past month I have been finishing up two of my summer classes and am in the middle of my third one.  I’ve also been fixing up things around the house (within reason…being that it’s a rental)…stuff like washing the walls and fixing the caulking in the bathroom (it was HIDEOUS!).  I finally got the loft and spare bedrooms unpacked and ready for visitors too which is a really nice feeling.

My 4th of July was  pretty awful honestly.  I had planned on relaxing and not doing a darn thing all day but instead ended up running in the morning only to find out that the air conditioner went out…before the heat of the day even hit!  The rental company and their maintenance guys weren’t working because of the holiday but I got in contact with one of the maintenance off-duty guys who informed me that it was a holiday…like I didn’t know or something!  I resigned to being miserably hot and cried out of self-pity.  Thanks to a miracle from God, a maintenance guy stopped by around 1pm and fixed the air conditioner so that by bedtime it was again 75 degrees inside.

A week later my friend, Mary Beth, came back from Georgia where she was visiting family so I’ve had someone local to hang out with and talk to from time to time.  We have been to the pool and had dinner together.  Her husband was deployed to Iraq this past May so it’s nice to have someone wearing the same shoes as me who can feel the pain and loneliness of deployment.  I’ve also been able to meet some of the people living around me.  I feel much safer in this neighborhood than I did when we lived here last year and we have neighbors who seem to watch what goes on in the neighborhood too.  They noticed that it’s just me living here and that I have two dogs.  It would worry me except they all seem like good people.  We don’t have the obnoxious kids running through the streets like we had last year either and there aren’t sirens going off every evening either.

Speaking of violence and crime…you all have probably seen the news about the soldier arrested outside of Fort Hood who had the intention of doing some sort of damage on Fort Hood again.  Thankfully, the police reacted quickly enough and were able to foil his plan and everything is fine here so no worries!

With Rod’s insisting I’ve begun taking personal golf lessons with the hopes of being able play a decent game when we get to Scotland…without fighting about my form! 🙂  It has given me something else to occupy my time and I really enjoy golfing so I’d like to eventually be able to say I’m not too bad at it!  The trick is getting out there before the heat of the day hits.  I’ve gotta say, I’ve never wished for a tropical storm more than I have been for the last couple months.  The heat and humidity are just plain miserable!  Arizona and Kuwait were pretty hot but it was dry heat so it didn’t feel as bad.

As far as my running is concerned, I’m in a bit of a slump.  Not sure why…I want to workout but when I wake up in the morning I feel like crap!  Like I’m congested and my body just hurts…feels like I didn’t get a full night’s rest.  So I’ll sit down and watch some of the news while I drink a cup of coffee and maybe lay down on the couch and go back to sleep.  Maybe I shouldn’t be saying this…Rod’s going to think I’m being super lazy.  I don’t go back to sleep often…promise!

Bible Chapters: Ezekiel 21 – Zechariah 7

We’re finishing up reading through the Bible, which is more than I can say for our mileage.  It’s been a great learning experience and makes me want to keep reading or do a devotional or something to dig deeper into the text.  Rod and I are very interested in the history and significance in a lot of what’s in the Bible so that will definitely be a focus for us.  I think we’d both like to read through a bit slower than what we did this year in hopes that we’ll have more time to ponder and research what we’re reading.

Miles:

Mine: 29.84 miles

Grandpa: 10 miles (That’s 100 total miles! Thank you, Grandpa!)

Phil and Karen: 8.8 miles

Mom and Dad Deerfoot: 8 miles

-M (159.0)

About Mandy

I am a Christian, a wife, a mother, a business owner, a full-time job worker, and a part-time Soldier.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Light… 3,956.87 miles to go

  1. karen scott says:

    Hi guys, We haven’t heard from you in three weeks, and I was hoping all is well with you both. I’ve been seeing on the news how awfully hot it is in Texas, and I’m so glad your air got fixed! Can’t do without that here in Florida either! Hey, between us all, we knocked off three thousand miles this year–that’s pretty good, I think. Add in 32.05 miles for the Scotts for these last three weeks. We’re still tallying them up! Praying for you both all the time.

Leave a Reply

