Hitting the home stretch…..4235.86 miles to go

Well, I’m past the three-quarters mark now.  It’s been a good while since I’ve posted anything.  It’s been an absolute whirlwind since I got back.  I’m just now getting caught up with everything.  Every time I think I’m about to get over the hump, something new comes up and I’m back even further.  I’m sleeping in my office now.  It’s not as bad as it sounds.  I actually like it.  I can wake up, put on a pot of coffee, lay back down for a minute, and then get up and start the day without all the normal walking a quarter of a mile to get to a bathroom or shower or to work.  I’m kind of lazy like that I suppose.  My dream job would seriously be something, anything I could do from home.

It didn’t take me as long to get back into the swing of things as I thought it would.  Don’t get me wrong, I still hate being here and don’t want to be here, but I jumped right back in.  I had no choice.  Plus, the dirtbags over here gave me some wonderful “welcome back” gifts to let me know they missed me.  That’s always good motivation to get in gear.  The biggest shock about getting back is the weather.  We were pushing 100 when I left.  It was in the 70s most of the time I was home thanks to all the storms.  When I stepped off the plane it was 118.  I don’t think it’s been lower than 110 since I got back, and we haven’t even reached the hottest part of the summer yet.  When you’ve got all your gear on, you just sweat like crazy and you can’t ever seem to drink enough water.  I’m definitely looking forward to the cool, overcast weather in Scotland this fall.

I threw a ton of hard work right down the drain when I came home.  I gave up on eating healthy about, oh, two hours after we got back.  I really screwed up Mandy’s work too because she was eating all that mess with me.  I put on eight pounds while I was gone.  Thanks to the pace of work, I haven’t really taken any of it back off either because finding time to go to the gym can be hard when you have to pull 30 hours straight thanks to mission requirements.  I am not coming home weighing over 200 pounds though.  I’ve got about two months to make my goal and I plan on being there when I step off the plane in Texas. 

Mandy is in Texas right now getting the house started.  We found a place right outside of base about 200 meters from the house we were living in.  I’m excited we got this place because we are familiar with everything in the neighborhood already.  The best part, though, is that I can be home from my office on Fort Hood in about seven minutes, meaning I can come home and see my wife at lunch daily.  Plus, we’ll save a ton of money on gas being so close, especially since it’s been creeping up around four stinking bucks a gallon.

I’m up to Chapter 60 on Isaiah.  I love this part of the Bible.  I’m going to have to go back and read it again with Mandy once I get home, because there are so many passages that I want to discuss with her and get her ideas and share mine.  I really am blessed to have a wife who enjoys just sitting in bed and reading the Bible with me and then taking the time to chat about what we just read.  There are so many other things about her, I could go on forever.  But seriously, I don’t think I could possibly imagine my life with anyone else.  There is not one single thing that I want to do that I don’t want her right by my side enjoying it with me.  Lucky for me, just about anything I love to do, she loves doing just as much.

Anyhow, I’m going to go stretch out and hit the sack.  Just finished up at the gym about 45 minutes ago and if I don’t stretch before I sleep, I won’t be able to move tomorrow morning.  Thanks for all the continued prayers.  See you all soon.

Totals through Thursday:

Miles run: 13.55

Bible read: Thru Isaiah 60

Weight: 216 😦

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hitting the home stretch…..4235.86 miles to go

  1. karen scott says:

    Hi Rod, We haven’t checked in for awhile, because we were on vacation up north, visiting family. However, we did manage a few miles the week before we left, and hit the gym a couple of times while on vacation, so our miles add up to 22.01 for the last few weeks!! Today, it’s back to the gym schedule for sure!! Heard about the soldiers killed in Iraq while we were gone, and were praying so hard for you. It’s always so good to hear from you and Mandy. Take care over there in the heat.

  2. Rod says:

    Thanks for the prayers Karen. It definitely makes me feel better over here knowing that there are so many people praying for us.

Leave a Reply

