Ready for May!!! 4,711.14 miles to go

I’m so stinkin’ ready for May it’s almost painful.  Having weird dreams and am in a mad scramble to lose some weight.  I’ve been busy with school and drill.  My uniform fit even better this month!  WOOHOO!!  Found out this evening that the title for the house is finally clear.  Now if only USAA would pull their head out of their butt and process our loan paperwork…or at least answer their phones/return phone calls/answer e-mails!  Last I checked, that was good business policy. 

We’re pretty nervous about our lazy congressmen…from both parties.  At this point, Rod won’t be getting a paycheck on the 15th of April.  I wasn’t even sure until recently that it was possible to NOT pay our servicemen/women, especially when their sitting in harm’s way, and are the reason those congressmen can afford to sit on their…rears (I’d like to use another word) and get paid way too much to do nothing!  By God’s grace, we’ll be okay for a few months…but what about the soldiers who live paycheck to paycheck!?  I just read today about a soldier’s wife who is living in the Fort Hood area and hasn’t been able to find a job since August (sounds familiar) but her husband is an E-4 and let’s just say, there’s a big difference in what an E-4 and a WO1 bring home on a monthly basis.  I couldn’t imagine being in her situation.  If nothing else, this teaches me the importance of having a big cushion to fall back on. 

I’ve got to say, I’m getting pretty tired of dealing with everything by myself.  Rod has been gone for over 7 months now and it hasn’t gotten easier to handle everything alone, I just expect it all to be twice as hard.  Thanks to the coldest winter the dogs have ever seen and their lack of activity, Paige has gained 20 pounds…I didn’t even know a dog could do that.  I had to weigh her twice…which she hates…just to make sure the scale wasn’t wrong.  Granted, I see her everyday but she doesn’t look like she’s gained that much weight.  And Yadier has gained 10 pounds.  So, I’ve cut back their food intake, started shedding their winter coats, and leave them outside to run and frolic for longer during the day.  I can report that it has been a week and Paige has lost 2 pounds already!  Only 18 more to go!

Bible Chapters Read: Psalms 39 – 98

I’m getting used to how the Psalms read and while I don’t always understand the symbology, I can get the gist of the meaning.  I’ve also started doing my reading in the mornings with a nice cup of coffee.  By the time I’m done reading, I’m ready to start my day!  I’ve drug out a book by Cynthia Heald called “Becoming a Woman of Prayer” in hopes of starting to read it in the mornings.  Prayer has really become a huge part of my daily life so I figure this book should be a nice study.

Miles:

Me: 82.3 miles

Grandpa Williams: 10 miles

Phil and Karen: 20.98 miles

Mom Deerfoot: 10 miles

Dad Deerfoot: 2 miles

Josh: 116.7 miles

Maryeileen: 35 miles

TOTAL: 276.98 miles!!  AWESOME EVERYONE!  Keep going! 🙂

-M (169.0)

About Mandy

I am a Christian, a wife, a mother, a business owner, a full-time job worker, and a part-time Soldier.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ready for May!!! 4,711.14 miles to go

  1. karen scott says:

    Add 13.39 miles for the Scotts this week; finally we’re back to our normal gym schedule! Still praying for you both–safety, the house situation, the gov. shutdown, etc. Hang in there–May isn’t that far off anymore. Love you.

Leave a Reply

