Cabin Fever… 5,846.90 miles to go

So, of course, it was completely sunny and in the low 70s on Saturday this last weekend.  It was a beautiful day for golf…almost got a little sunburn on my face even!  Then Monday night comes and the heat wave was gone…replaced by whipping winds, below freezing temperatures, freezing rain, ice, and snow.  So far the schools have been closed for two days and are already set to be closed tomorrow too.  Haven’t received any mail and the trash hasn’t been picked up in over a week.  Monday I made sure to go grocery shopping and didn’t even think about the crazy rush of people trying to stock up for the storm…I was just there for the basics!  Now, as the temperature sits at 1 degree (that’s right… o-n-e), I’m very thankful I won’t be needing to venture out into the nastiness for food.  That’s not to say I couldn’t benefit from a few days without food! 🙂 

We are already into our third week of classes and things are coming along pretty smooth.  I’m pretty thankful that 2 out of 3 of my classes are online with all this weather we’re having.  I just had my one on-campus class Monday night right before the storm rolled in. 

At any rate, Rod and I have started looking for houses in Texas to buy.  There is a huge market of foreclosed homes in the Fort Hood/Killeen area…the struggle is to find one that’s big enough, nice enough (although maybe not too nice), for the right price, and in the right neighborhood.  Even though the neighborhood we lived in last year scared us at times (more like the people in the neighborhood) we would still like to go back to that area.  It’s familiar and very close for Rod to get to work.  In terms of one day renting it out (when Rod and I change duty stations), having the house located very close to a gate of Fort Hood will hopefully be a big help in keeping renters attracted.  The neighborhood is also fairly new so the houses aren’t as run-down as some places in Killeen.  We thought we had actually found a house that was very reasonable on John Porter Drive but it turns out it is already in contract.  Looking for houses also means I’ve been looking for work, both temporary here and permanent in Texas.  Prayers will be much appreciated for both a house and a job. 🙂

I don’t have much else to say so I suppose I’ll close for now.  For those of you in Ohio, I hope you’re weathering through this mess!  For those of you in the south…well, I hope you’re enjoying warmer weather!  Who wants 80s in January anyway?! 😀

Miles:

Me: 36.87 miles ran/cycled

Mom Deerfoot: 3 miles walked (Yay Momma!! Keep goin’!)

Karen: 5.05 miles (Hope Phil made it back from Denver alright!)

Bible Chapters Read: 1 Samuel 29 – 2 Kings 7

There’s not much to really say about the chapters above.  Someday I’d like to take more time and do some in-depth research on some of the history behind these books.  It goes really fast, especially when you get into Kings 1 and 2.  Names are being dropped, God isn’t pleased with a single one of them it seems, and it jumps a lot between Judah and Israel.  I’ve never really known where the split between Israel and Judah started and what’s the difference?  Which one remained God’s chosen or does that matter?  What ever happened to Judah over time…it’s not on any map of mine!  Any historians/theologians of the Middle East out there?!

About Mandy

I am a Christian, a wife, a mother, a business owner, a full-time job worker, and a part-time Soldier.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cabin Fever… 5,846.90 miles to go

  1. karen scott says:

    Hey girl, Glad to hear that you’re weathering the cold and winter snows/ice, etc. in good shape. Yeah, it’s really tough living in 80 degree temps just now while everyone else we know is freezing!! Put Phil down for 4.75 miles last week (yes, back from Denver safe and sound) and I walked 6.35 last week. Now, about your questions. Israel was comprised of the ten northern tribes and the tribes of Judah and Benjamin made up the southern kingdom of Judah. Israel was conquered by the Assyrians and a couple hundred years later, Judah was conquered by the Babylonian empire. After that time, I’m not sure if they were ever called a divided kingdom anymore. I don’t think so. Any other historians out there? Have a great week, Mandy.

Leave a Reply

