Made It Back… 6,204.96 miles to go

Made it back from Florida last night around 8pm (Central Time).  What a LONG drive!!  It was more than worth it though.  I had a really great time and got to do more than I had expected to be able to do.  I went horseback riding, swimming, cooked most of Thanksgiving, and went to Cocoa Village to look around and shop.  Don’t worry, Rod, I didn’t buy too much!  We also went to an orange grove on Saturday and I picked up a whole bunch (about 1/2 a bushel) of oranges and grapefruits.  Mostly, I had a wonderful time with my grandparents and was able to relax some. 

One morning we were sitting at breakfast and we heard a “nee-naw, nee-naw, nee-naw” sound.  I thought it was a motion-sensored Christmas decoration but it was Grandpa’s defibrillator/pacemaker telling us his battery was getting low.  He’s supposed to receive a call soon to tell him when he’ll need to get the device replaced so PLEASE…PRAYERS, PRAYERS, PRAYERS!!



(The horse’s name is Tank…and that’s exactly the kind of beast it takes to move all this weight around…hehehe!)

Miles: Grandpa has walked 20 miles over the course of the month or so.

**We’ve got to kick it up to about 115 miles per week if we’re going to make our goal…we’re passed the 3 month mark!

Bible chapters: Genesis 17 – Exodus 14

Okay, so at the beginning of Exodus, God tells Moses of his plans to use him to bring the Jews out of Egypt where they have been oppressed for so long.  When Moses goes down to meet the Pharaoh though, the Pharaoh keeps telling Moses that he will let the Jews go free and immediately rescinds the promise once Moses has gone away because the Lord “hardened his heart.”  In chapter 10, starting at verse 1, it says, “The the Lord said to Moses, ‘Go to Pharaoh, for I have hardened his heart and the hearts of is officials so that I may perform these signs of mine among them that you may tell your children and grandchildren how I dealt harshly with the Egyptians and how I performed my signs among them, and that you may know that I am Lord.'”  My question is…did the Lord make the Egyptians suffer (and I mean SU-FFER!) just to show the Jews that he was their God and instill fear in their hearts by showing what he can do to those who disobey??

-M (175.3…only gained a pound over vacation…woohoo!)

About Mandy

I am a Christian, a wife, a mother, a business owner, a full-time job worker, and a part-time Soldier.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Made It Back… 6,204.96 miles to go

  1. karen scott says:

    Glad to hear that you got home safely. Prayers were going! Thanks again for the yummy pumpkin pie and the good visit–let’s not have it so long till the next time! Hey, I actually got back to the gym yesterday.

  2. Drenchpa says:

    LOVED having you here !!!!!!
    Which one is the horse ???

    LOVE YOU AS ALWAYS, drenchpa

Leave a Reply

