Unmotivated…….6382.88

Between last weekend and this week I took five days off from running.  I really wanted to see if that would have any effect on the swelling in my calf.  It didn’t.  So I started back up with my normal routine yesterday.  After some of the things Mandy showed me that she researched, I’m a bit more worried about it, but hopefully it is just caused by sitting too much or hypertension or something.  For now though, I am feeling the effects of taking so much time off and the effects of all the cookies and brownies that Mandy sent.  I ate them WAY too fast.  So, as unmotivated as I am to run tonight, I’ll make my way to the gym

I have one passage that has stood out in the last week’s reading:

2nd Timothy 3:1 This know also, that in the last days perilous times shall come.

This caught me right away; I’m extremely interested in all end times prophecy.

2nd Timothy 3:2 For men shall be lovers of their own selves, covetous, boasters, proud, blasphemers, disobedient to parents, unthankful, unholy,

I’m sure these thing can in their own way be applied to any period in history, but I highly doubt I am alone in sensing a moral degradation plaguing our country. Everything is “me, me me!”  Don’t even get me started on the “disobedient to parents” thing.  I wouldn’t have to worry about living through the end times were I to have ever acted as some do towards their parents now….my Mom and Dad would have sent me to see God through beatings.

2nd Timothy 3:3 Without natural affection, trucebreakers, false accusers, incontinent, fierce, despisers of those that are good,

Despisers of those that are good.  Be respectful of all religions in the United States.  Except Christianity.  Christians are fair game to be bad-mouthed.  I’ll save the rest of my gripe about how the US is moving away from Christianity for the next time I write.  I promise, it will be an eye opener for just about anyone who reads.  It’s made me question my ability to continue in my career with the Army.

2nd Timothy 3:4 Traitors, heady, highminded, lovers of pleasures more than lovers of God;

I am guilty of this last part, though I am trying to be mindful of it and correct it where I can.  I do have things in my life that I do at times put before God.  I believe in enjoying life as much as possible, but it becomes easy to push Christ to the side for other pursuits.  Our culture in general, though, puts so many distractors in the way of people having a daily relationship with God. 

2nd Timothy 3:5 Having a form of godliness, but denying the power thereof: from such turn away

And the last one leads into this.  How many are there who are Christians in name only?  How many truly believe that he has a hand in our day to day lives?  How many call themselves followers of Christ yet put every care and pleasure in the world in front of their relationship with Him?  How many are really just wolves in sheep’s clothing, calling themselves Christians but serving another master?

and skipping to

2nd Timothy 3:7 Ever learning, and never able to come to the knowledge of the truth.

Every day our society becomes more technologically and intellectually advanced, yet it denies the power of God over all.

Sorry if this got a bit preachy, but this is one of the things that Mandy and I would have discussed were we laying in bed reading the Bible together, and after all, that’s half the point of this blog…for she and I to be able to discuss our readings and thoughts on these readings. 

Totals through Thursday

Miles run:  7.21 in 66 minutes

Miles donated: 5.25 from Karen and 8 from Mom via email (Sug or Laniece, show her how to post for me….)

Weight: Nope, not til I’m sure that every bit of those cookies and brownies are out of my system.

Bible read:  Through Philemon.

til next time…..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Unmotivated…….6382.88

  1. Maryeileen says:

    I love you sweetie….
    I just made Everett read the part about parents and your “beatings”…..he said “nu-uh, his parents didnt beat him, thats against the law”……I told him to come talk to you about it! I think he thinks you’re incapable of wrong doing 😉

    I love getting to see this side of you through your writting, you really have a nack for storytelling. I enjoy every post.

    Stay safe sweetheart and God Bless,
    Maryeileen

  2. karen scott says:

    You make a good point, Rod. If we say our relationship with Jesus is the most important thing in our lives, why aren’t we living it that way?? You gave me some good food for thought. Thanks. Add 7.5 miles for me this week. Take care over there and be safe.

  3. LaNiece says:

    I Have 15 miles for last week. Love you! Love reading ur thoughts about Bible passages.

Leave a Reply

