Alive… 6,436.98 miles to go

So a lot has happened in the last week or so.  I had applied (half-heartedly) to a position in Iraq just to see what they were offering and if I would be a viable candidate.  I typically do this about once a year just to see where I am professionally.  The thing is, I am a candidate (potentially the only applicant) for the position and have completed the full application process.  The only thing I’m waiting for is the offer letter which could come anytime in the next 1-3 weeks.  Yes, taking this job means I will be forced with withdraw from my courses at the University of Arkansas but I could potentially take online courses toward my master’s degree (in a different field of study) while I’m in Iraq.  My whole goal with getting a master’s degree is to get my teaching certificate.  The program I’m in doesn’t really set me up for that so I’d end up needing to go through some extra classes to get that certification anyway.  This may potentially be something I can do online as well. 

My only other apprehension was that, while I’d potentially be able to see Rod once a month or so, I’d be completely alone in a very (emotionally) harsh country.  Today, I spoke to a girl who I worked with out in Arizona (by chance).  She is a Christian and we were very close while working together.  Although we hadn’t spoken in a few months she, by chance (hit the wrong button on her computer), started a conversation with me and told me she’s in Iraq right now doing the same job I am applying for.  If that isn’t God working in your life, I don’t know what is.  At the very least, I might have a female Christian to talk to and be able to give each other the emotional and spiritual support we’ll need. 

The decision is not final as, like I said, I have not received an offer letter from the company I applied to.  Your prayers and thoughts are very much appreciated…not that I would stay or go but that God’s Will in my life be done and that his purpose in this situation be made clear to me.  Just to warn you all, this will be a fairly quick move for me.  They need someone in the position by the middle of November so I’ll keep you all up to speed as much as possible.

For now, I’m still clippin’ along in school and trying to stay focused in case things don’t work out with going to Iraq.

Bible Readings: 2 Corinthians 14 – Ephesians 6

It’s interesting to see the struggles of the early churches and how similar our modern churches are to them…although hopefully not nearly as corrupt as they are made out to be.  Gets me thinking about all he different denominations of Christianity and how they came to be.  Which one is more correct in their thinking and whether it matters that much or if our God is truly that forgiving to understand our misinterpretations and misguided beliefs?

Miles run: 9.24

-M (174.0…my lowest in a long time.  Total pounds lost: 4.0)

About Mandy

I am a Christian, a wife, a mother, a business owner, a full-time job worker, and a part-time Soldier.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Alive… 6,436.98 miles to go

  1. LaNiece says:

    I biked 10 miles Monday, ran 1 Tuesday, and Ethan and I ran 3 Friday. Praying for you both that God will use you both to the best of your abilities. You are both so talented and smart, do whatever he wants rest assured it will be done well. Love you both!

Leave a Reply

