Spiritual gifts… 6,700.68 miles to go

Biked Saturday: 10.13 miles

Grandpa walked: 10 miles

Maryeileen biked: 12 miles

Another day down.  I tell ya, this has probably been the longest month I’ve ever had.  Crafts, school, and working out have kept me fairly busy but there are still nights like tonight, when I can’t focus on school work and don’t have the patience for crafts, that make me miss Rod all the more.  I wonder what he’s doing and if he’s okay and when he’ll contact me next.  It’s a really helpless feeling being the one at home…a feeling, I must admit, that’s brand new to me.  I started reading the new bible study, “God Strong.”  It’s comforting reading through another woman’s experience and knowing mine is so similar.  The greatest point she’s made so far is that when she had had enough of being strong and was too exhausted to put up the front anymore she realized that God’s strength is the only strength that would get her through her husband’s deployment.  I’d never really thought to ask for God’s strength during this whole thing which makes me pretty sad. 

Acts 8-15:  Acts, so far, has given a detailed account of the disciples going out and ministering to non-believers and bringing people to Christ.  It seems like they were coming left and right, aside from the occasional threat of stoning or imprisonment.  It makes me wonder if we still had people on earth who could bring people back from the dead, heal by laying hands, expel demons, and speak in “tongues,” would the message of Jesus Christ be easier to accept for some atheists?  Why do you think “spiritual gifts” don’t exist anymore, or do you??  Maybe the answer is further on in the text and I’ve yet to reach it…

I love you all and thanks for reading…M (175.0)

About Mandy

I am a Christian, a wife, a mother, a business owner, a full-time job worker, and a part-time Soldier.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spiritual gifts… 6,700.68 miles to go

  1. Sara says:

    I’m not much for running, but have been walking to work lately. So I’d say that I’ve walked about 2 miles this week. I love you both very much and pray everyday that Rod is safe everyday and makes it hope to my beautiful sister.

    Love you!!!

    ~S~

  2. karen scott says:

    The Florida Scotts checking in for the last week–put me down for eight miles this week! My back is still acting up, so I’m only walking at the gym, rather than working out on all the machines I used to. So that’s a good thing for you guys!
    By the way, read Romans 12 and I Corinthians 12 to find out that ALL Christians today have spiritual gifts. And we need to be using them in order for the whole body to function properly. Praying always for you both, Karen

    • Mandy says:

      I knew as soon as I wrote that I should have clarified what I meant by “spiritual gifts.” I meant the laying on of hands, expulsion of demons, raising people from the dead, and speaking in tongues. I wonder why God doesn’t give these gifts anymore. Are we just that wicked of a people and if we were on the right track we’d have them??

      • Rod says:

        I was actually wondering the same thing as I read through Acts. I have seen people speaking in tongues (although I had my suspicions about some), talk to my Momma about it. She has as well.

        Never seen an exorcism of a demon, cept in the movies…..

Leave a Reply

