Bleh…….6781.70 miles to go

I will never fall back into the same sedentary lifestyle. I will never go days or weeks at a time without strenous exercise. I will never gorge myself for days on end. Never. Never. Never.

Ok, done with that. Sug, less TV, more golf and tennis. We’ll get us a portable XM receiver for the summer for listening to Cardinals games rather than spend three hours a night in front of the TV. More walks with the doggies. If we’re going to be sitting down, let’s be fishing. And definitely more hiking and National Park-ing. Life’s too short for reality TV and endless food network. Although,you have picked up some nifty cooking tips from Alton Brown….sigh….we’ll figure that one out later.

I still have a ways to go in fully getting the hang of my job here, but it is getting better with each passing day. The hours in all likelihood will never decrease, but as long as the days keep flying by that is a good thing. As long as I have time to call home a few times a week and go to the gym, I’ll be ok. What the heck else am I going to do over here anyway? Sit in my room and stare at the wall? I do hope to be able to squeeze in some time to read at some point. We’ll see.

Two verses from tonight’s reading are among my all-time favorites:

John 15:13
“Greater love hath no man, than to lay down his life for his friends.”

That verse is used in the prologue on the video for the Big & Rich song “8th of November,” one of my favorite songs about the true story of one of the battles of Vietnam. Really good song and great video. Unfortunately my interwebs here is too slow to download videos or I would watch it now.  Either way, it really is a fitting verse for soldiers.

From John 14:6
“I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me.”

‘Nuff said.

Totals for the past two days:

Miles run: 6.50 in 62 minutes

Miles donated: 12 (6 for Ethan and 6 for Laniece)

Weight: 235.8

Bible read: John 9-16

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bleh…….6781.70 miles to go

  1. Drenchpa says:

    “Giving your life for your friends” does not necessarily mean to actually physically die.
    Our most precious commodity is our TIME.
    So, when we give up some of our time to listen, help, give advice, etc. to someone,
    we actually are giving our life to and for that person.
    This is especially important to a child.
    Until I meet you, God bless. Drenchpa

  2. Rod says:

    I never really thought about it that way, thanks!

    Looking forward to meeting you.

Leave a Reply

