Taking a break… 6,800.20 miles to go

Alright, so my hand is cramping from re-writing my notes.  Thought I’d take a break and get caught up on the blog.  Friday afternoon I ran 4 miles…and almost died…it was 98 degrees out.  Maryeileen ran that with me so there’s 4 more miles contributed from her.  Saturday I didn’t run but Maryeileen got out and ran 2.26 miles while Everett rode his bike beside her for a total of 4.52 miles.  Today I ran another 4 miles while Josh, Maryeileen, Everett, and Emma went down to Devil’s Den and hiked 1.5 miles each (that’s 6, in all).  We’ve almost broken another big mile marker.  Sadly, to accomplish our goal we need to be logging about 133 miles a week!  Keep up the great work everyone! 😀

Friday night I drove down to Booneville (pronounced “Boone-vul” for the non-Arkansas readers) to visit with one of Rod’s sisters, LaNiece, her husband, Mark, and their kids, Ethan and Emily.  We went to the high school football game and everyone in town was there…that’s how small Booneville really is.  Every time we scored a touchdown there was a guy standing out by the treeline (about 300 meters away from the field) who’d set off fireworks.  It made me think of Rod’s friend, Jesse, because that seems like the kind of thing he’d have a ball doing.  He’s a simple country boy who, from what I remember of Rod’s childhood stories, LOVES being crazy and rough.  The next morning we drove to Ethan’s triathlon.  He did an awesome job!  I kept thinkin’, boy, I wish they’d had this kind of stuff when I was a kid.  The more you compete in races and triathlon when you’re a kid the more likely you’ll be competing when you’re an adult.  Lord knows this country could use a little more exercise…and A LOT less eating!  Seeing Ethan complete that race just wore me out though so I drove back to Fayetteville and took a nap before attempting to study.  Needless to say I didn’t get much done through the OSU game, Razorbacks game, and Cardinals game.  It was dark before I knew it. 

I did go to church this morning and the sermon was okay.  The pastor spoke about creation and brought up some facts about the perfectly “fine tuned” design God has created.  I actually knew a lot of the facts but thought his information was a little out of date.  He didn’t even bring up the newest scientific theory of life spawning from a phosphoric reaction but maybe he didn’t want to confuse/lose his audience.  He also showed a documentary-like film called Expelled: No Intelligence Allowed which was hosted by Ben Stein.  In the film he interviews a man who is thought to be the most violently atheist man in the world (I won’t go in to the details).  I’m very interested in seeing the rest of the film…apparently Ben Stein may have been fired for his anti-atheist opinion…what a shock! 

At any rate, after church Debe, Nick, and I went out to lunch at a Chinese buffet to celebrate Debe’s birthday.  Boy, do I love Chinese food!!  Had to skip dinner after that feast, though.  The rest of the afternoon I spent with the doggies (that’s pronounced “doe-gees”) and getting my school work done.  BTW…I’ve got a 90% in my Exercise Physiology class and an 87% in my Biomechanics class so far.  The other two classes are unknown right now but I’ve got my first exam in my Statistics class on Tuesday and some ungraded work in two of my classes.  I’ll update you all as I get ’em back…the good ones at least! 🙂

I finished up Luke on Friday.  The passage in chapter 21, verses 5-38, is particularly thought-provoking for me.  With the current global “situation” (Iran obtaining nuclear weapons, the US practically abandoning Israel, global terrorism, Muslim v. Christian/Jew) it’s not hard to imagine Jesus coming back in our lifetime.  Granted, people have been watching for Jesus’ return for generations but I’m not sure how much more tension Israel can take before the war of Gog and Magog breaks out.  What a devastating time that will be for us all. 

I love the beginning of John.  Rod and I had only read through Luke so this is all new reading to me…yes, I’m a Christian of 14 years who has never read the bible through.  The passion in John’s writing is incredible in the first chapter.  It always gives me goosebumps when I read the response John gives to the Pharisees who question him on his right to baptize…”I baptize with water,” John replied, “but among you stands one you do not know.  He is the one who comes after me, the thongs of whose sandals I am not worthy to untie.”  Goosebumps, anyone?! 

That’s all for now…M (175.0)

About Mandy

I am a Christian, a wife, a mother, a business owner, a full-time job worker, and a part-time Soldier.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Taking a break… 6,800.20 miles to go

  1. Drenchpa says:

    Hang tough.
    You say that you need 133 miles per day ???
    What’s that country/western song: “I’m already there”
    LOVE to you both Drenchpa

  2. laniece1976 says:

    Me and Ethan did a 6mile bike ride today! Loving the weather! Love ya Rod. Had a great time with Mandy this weekend. Ethan and Emily love her. They can’t wait for her to come back.

Leave a Reply

