Still kickin’… 6,854.53 miles to go

I’ve been slackin these last couple of days on writing on the blog but I promise I’ve been running.  Wednesday morning Maryeileen and I ran 1.84 miles each (3.68 miles total) and last night I ran 2.96 miles.  Subtract the 9 miles that Mom and Dad did and that brings us down to 6,854.53 miles to go.  I’ve yet to run today but I didn’t want to get too far behind in posting the miles.  My body is finally starting to work out the kinks and slowly becoming more efficient.  I wish the weight was coming off as fast but I’m workin on it. 

The last few days have been uneventful.  I’ve been holed up in my room trying to keep up and maybe get ahead on my school work.  Seems to be paying off but most days I don’t know where the times goes.  Before I realize it the day is over and I’m beat.  I think I’m starting to become narcoleptic when I watch tv.  It usually takes me three tries to get through a 20 minute program.  Thank goodness for DVR (that’s digital video recording…for the technologically challenged) or I’d never get to see a full program.  I’ve started taking my reading book (The Faithful Spy by Alex Berenson) to class with me to read  between classes to keep myself entertained…I know, I know, how could I not be completely intrigued by the flirtatious banter of dim jocks and their brainless friends?!  I guess I’m just not like them.  Part of it is probably because they have no life experience and are only 22 years old.  It’s amazing what a difference 4 years makes. 

Chapters 9-20 of Luke:  I could write for days on these chapters.  There are so many lessons that Jesus teaches which can be applied to our lives still today.  Here is one that Rod and I have been wondering about for quite some time.  Luke 20:27-38: Some of the Sadducees, who say there is no resurrection, came to Jesus with a question.  28“Teacher,” they said, “Moses wrote for us that if a man’s brother dies and leaves a wife but no children, the man must marry the widow and have children for his brother.  29Now there were seven brothers. The first one married a woman and died childless.  30The second 31and then the third married her, and in the same way the seven died, leaving no children.  32Finally, the woman died too.  33Now then, at the resurrection whose wife will she be, since the seven were married to her?”  34Jesus replied, “The people of this age marry and are given in marriage.  35But those who are considered worthy of taking part in that age and in the resurrection from the dead will neither marry nor be given in marriage, 36and they can no longer die; for they are like the angels.  They are God’s children, since they are children of the resurrection.  37But in the account of the bush, even Moses showed that the dead rise, for he calls the Lord ‘the God of Abraham, and the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob.’  38He is not the God of the dead, but of the living, for to him all are alive.”

Is this passage saying when we get to heaven we will no longer be married?? 

I will write more tonight after a run and today’s bible study.

-M (175.0)

About Mandy

I am a Christian, a wife, a mother, a business owner, a full-time job worker, and a part-time Soldier.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Still kickin’… 6,854.53 miles to go

  1. Rod says:

    Even if we ain’t married in heaven, you’ll still be my Sug……

    • Mom Deerfoot says:

      Mandy, your Aunt Cherie and I talked about this several years ago and I think we both agreed that, as you said, we won’t be married. But I believe that we will recognize each other in Heaven and will know the connection. Of course, this is just what I believe, we won’t know for sure until we’re called home.

      Love you bunches.
      Mom D.

  2. Mom Deerfoot says:

    And yes Rod……I believe Mandy will always be your Sug, as she should be.

    Take care and God bless.
    Mom D.

  3. karen scott says:

    Hi guys, It’s the end of the week here, and you can take 5.5 more miles off your total! I got back into the gym this week, though my back is still not its normal self. But I did walk around the track this week, just to see how things would go. I am enjoying reading both of your blogs—amazed at how many miles have already come off your total. Have a good weekend, and I’ll check in with you again next week. Karen

Leave a Reply

