HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!!! 6,877.85 miles to go

Most of you know that today is Rod’s and my first wedding anniversary.  The year has completely flown by and yet it feels like we’ve through about 10 years worth of trials and changes.  Even though Rod and I celebrated our anniversary before he left today was still lonely with him being gone.  I figured I’d just do what he was probably doing and work through the day.  I had more than enough school work to keep me busy anyway.  Sometime in the afternoon I took a break from studies and went for a long bike ride (8.81 miles actually).  Figured I should mix it up a little.  My quads were screamin’ about 5 minutes in to it thanks to the hill at the beginning of the workout.  I guess I didn’t realize how different biking is from running biomechanically.  I’ll have to take that to class with me! 🙂 

So the miles I racked up today plus my mom and dad’s bike ride from yesterday bring us to a slimmer 6,877.85 miles left to go.  I know my Grandpa Williams has some distance in his back pocket but he says he’s saving it up! 😀  Keep up the hard work, Grandpa!

Yesterday was fairly quiet.  I had the house to myself which was pretty weird but turned on some background noise and pushed through it.  Last night Rod’s mom, Debe, and youngest brother, Nick, went to church.  The message was pretty good although I left with more questions than answers I think.  The question was: Can a Christian cease to be a Christian if they fall away?  Also, the pastor spoke about the balance between faith and good deeds.  If you have only faith and no deeds, can you call yourself a Christian?  If you have deeds but no faith, wouldn’t you just be a Good Samaritan?  If you have faith and deeds but pat yourself on the back for being such a good Christian, do your deeds mean anything at all?  The main passage used was Hebrews 5:11-6:12.  It’s not that long of a passage but should definitely get your wheels turning. 

Luke 1-8 is a very easy read.  The way it’s written makes it readable like a story book (I know, I know…it IS a story book).  If you ever get a chance to watch the movie “The Nativity Story” I recommend it.  It gives a phenomenal picture of what Luke describes in Luke 1-2.  I like to watch it on Christmas Eve and last year Rod joined in my tradition. 

Here is one question I’d like to throw out there…Luke 8:19-21 “Now Jesus’ mother and brothers came to see him, but they were not able to get near him because of the crowd.  Someone told him, ‘Your mother and brothers are standing outside, wanting to see you.’  He replied, ‘My mother and brothers are those who hear God’s word and put it into practice.'”  So what’s the deal with this?  I mean, it seems like Jesus is shunning his family…  I could look this up on the interwebs but I’d prefer to hear what you all have to say first.  Love you guys…thanks for reading!

-M (177.2 yummy burritos!)

I MISS YOU AND LOVE YOU WITH ALL MY HEART, ROD!  YOU ARE SUCH A WONDERFUL HUSBAND AND AN AMAZING CHRISTIAN MAN.  :-*

About Mandy

I am a Christian, a wife, a mother, a business owner, a full-time job worker, and a part-time Soldier.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!!! 6,877.85 miles to go

  1. Rod says:

    I love you more

  2. Mandy says:

    That’s impossible! 😀

  3. karen scott says:

    Hi Mandy, You’re giving me lots to think about with your questions! I don’t think Jesus is shunning his family in this passage; I think he’s simply stating that if we love him and obey his commands, WE are his family too. I know I over-think scripture sometimes and then I realize that maybe I’m making it more complicated than it really is. Happy belated anniversary–it’s hard being apart on that special day. Out of 37 years, we’ve only spent one apart, but it was tough. Keep on plugging away at those studies. I am enjoying reading your blogs every day (Rod’s too!) Karen

Leave a Reply

