And some more pain…..6934.13 miles to go

     I’m fat.  I’m out of shape.  That’s two things that will change by the end of this blog.  But right now the process of changing them hurts.  Starting on Monday I added a weights and abs routine in with the running.  Today, I just want to go lay on my bed face down and suffocate myself to sleep.  There aren’t too many places on my body right now that a person could poke that I wouldn’t say “Ow.”  I knew this wasn’t going to be easy.  I’ve been out of shape before and had to get back into shape and drop weight.  Seems like my whole life, and as recently as last year when I went to Ft. Rucker.  But I’m always overly optimistic about just how hard it really will be once I get started and put everything I have into it.  I always think the weight will come off in no time and I won’t feel the ill effects and soreness.  My body is telling me now that I’ve done good since I left and I should have most certainly dropped a ton of weight already.  Then I see myself in the mirror and realize that a body in pain is a big fat liar and I still have a long way to go.  Oh well.  Maybe this time when I say “I’ll never get this fat and out of shape again” I’ll actually mean it and stick to a healthier lifestyle.  Then again, maybe I’ll have a nice Chipotle burrito when I get home followed by some Whataburger and wash it all down with a Butterfinger Sonic Blast……mmmmmmm.

     I finished out the last eight chapters of Matthew over the last two days.  One passage that stuck out was Chapter 21:33-44.  It is the parable of the vinedressers.

33 Hear another parable: There was a certain householder, which planted a vineyard, and hedged it round about, and digged a winepress in it, and built a tower, and let it out to vinedressers, and went into a far country: 34 And when the time of the fruit drew near, he sent his servants to the vinedressers, that they might receive the fruits of it. 35 And the vinedressers took his servants, and beat one, and killed another, and stoned another. 36 Again, he sent other servants more than the first: and they did unto them likewise. 37 But last of all he sent unto them his son, saying, They will reverence my son. 38 But when the vinedressers saw the son, they said among themselves, This is the heir; come, let us kill him, and let us seize on his inheritance. 39 And they caught him, and cast him out of the vineyard, and slew him. 40 When the lord therefore of the vineyard cometh, what will he do unto those vinedressers? 41 They say unto him, He will miserably destroy those wicked men, and will let out his vineyard unto other vinedressers, which shall render him the fruits in their seasons. 42 Jesus saith unto them, Did ye never read in the scriptures, The stone which the builders rejected, has become the chief cornerstone: this is the Lord’s doing, and it is marvelous in our eyes? 43 Therefore say I unto you, The kingdom of God shall be taken from you, and given to a nation bringing forth the fruits thereof. 44 And whosoever shall fall on this stone shall be broken: but on whomsoever it shall fall, it will grind him to powder.

     Verse 43 is the main point that stuck out to me.  Sorry for putting the whole passage in there, but out of context it may not have made as much sense.  Israel rejected Christ.  In this rejection, salvation is opened up for the Gentiles, ie. everyone else in the world.  What I read in verse 43 (and this is purely my take on it, not doctrine by any means) is how the United States came to be such a blessed country.  In the way that God in the Old Testament blessed Israel when they followed Him, God also blessed the US for centuries.  My Dad has spoken to me on occassion about this, about the possibility that the US was so strong because we were a Christian nation and how he thought that perhaps we were now God’s chosen people.  I’m sure many people have wondered about the state of our country and if there is anything to it that relates to us as a nation running afoul of what God has commanded us.  I know what I believe and I’m sure some would disagree or call me intolerant or stupid or any number of things.  But to any Christian who truly believes, it is no secret that you can’t expect God’s continued blessing if you only pay Him lipservice and continue to slap Him in the face with your actions.

     Sug, keep it up.  Don’t let the pain keep you from moving on with your runs and don’t let the idiocy of school keep you from acing everything they put in front of you.  You’re to smart and hardheaded and wonderful for that.  Oh, and I love you.

Miles run: 6.29 in 60 minutes

Weight: 237 pounds

Bible read: Matthew 21-28

Body parts hurt:  206

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

