End of the line

This is coming a few days later than I had hoped. Sorry. I’ve been dealing with strep throat since the night I got back. Not exactly the kind of homecoming with Mandy I had been hoping for, but nevertheless I could not be happier to be home with my wife. We haven’t been able to do a whole lot since I did get home because I’ve been sick, but we have managed to go out to eat a couple of times and we went and watched a movie.

As Karen pointed out after the last post, we made it over halfway through the miles. I’m pretty impressed with that. I’m also thankful that so many people cared enough to read and donate miles for me and Mandy this past year. That and all the prayers were much appreciated. Plus, having other people posting miles was a good motivator for me on most nights to go and at least run a couple of miles at the gym. And I did need every bit of motivation I could find. Most days the past year I was so tired by the end of the day I didn’t want to do anything but sleep. The runs were good for stress relief though. Harder to be anxious about something when you’re completely worn out.

So for the past year I dropped from 241 when I got on the plane for Iraq to 211 when I got back off the plane at Fort Hood. Not where I wanted to end, but it’s something I suppose. Mandy and I are going to keep it up and try to drop a little more before we take off for Scotland in October. Hopefully we’ll be unrecognizable when we get to Ohio in October (and yes, we are going to find a way to make it down to visit the Florida crew!). 194 is my goal and I am going to get there if Mandy has to steal my fork from me.

The other accomplishment from this past year was that Mandy and I read the Bible from cover to cover. Now that I’m home, gonna start that one over and do it with some type of devotional and take some notes as well. Either way, I learned a lot through my reading this past year. Four chapters a night….not that hard.

Anyway, I’m gonna pass the computer over to Mandy and let her close out her portion. To everyone that read, posted miles, prayed, or just thought about it every once in a while, thanks and you have my love.

I can not thank you all enough for all of your prayers. There were many times when I cried to God to save Rod and struggled quite a bit with the balance between having enough faith to know that God will bring him home and worrying about his safety. Without a doubt, God’s unbelievable grace and your prayers are the only reasons I am not a widow.

Rod’s homecoming was pretty emotional. I thought he was mad at me the entire time he was in Kuwait because he hadn’t called me. Finally when he got to Ireland he called and said that he thought I was getting the emails from the Family Readiness Group about his movements (which I was but that didn’t mean I didn’t want to talk to him!). I guess it’s a man thing. I wish we had a picture to post of when we found each other but as soon as Rod found me we raced for the door to get his bags and go home. I think he likes the house really well which makes me kinda happy considering it took me a good month to get things the way I thought he’d like them…and the way I like them too! The doggies were elated to see him too. Yadier did his usual insane crying out, jumping all over the place, pouncing on Rod routine which is always a hoot to watch.

Like Rod said, we were able to read through the whole Bible which was a first for me. I’ve learned a lot and look forward to re-reading it and doing a little devotional to get us thinking about the deeper meaning of some of the passages we have read.

As far as my weight goes, I went from 175 to 180 and was 158 the day Rod came home. It’s definitely not as much as I had hoped to lose but I feel a lot better than I did last fall…or any other time this last winter/spring. My goal is to be at least 140 by the time we leave for Scotland. NOTE TO ALL: We do not intend on getting pregnant before that time! I think we’d both like to enjoy our time in Scotland without having to worry about morning sickness and my not drinking alcohol. I think everyone has made it pretty clear that they’re excited for us to have little ones of our own and, trust me, I’m excited to finally be at that point in my life where it wouldn’t be a bad thing if we did.

That’s all I’ve really got! I hope everyone enjoyed reading and keeping up…we love you, are praying for you always, and can’t wait to visit you all!

…let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.   HEB 12:1

Miles:

Mandy: 5.77 miles

Rod: 2.20 miles

Phil and Karen: 10.25 miles + 13.08 miles

Meagan: 100 miles

3,777.35 miles left

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to End of the line

  1. karen scott says:

    We still have a week’s worth of miles to add to your total, that we did the week you were on your way home. So if you want to add them in, here they are–13.08. We praise the Lord, Rod, that you are safely home, and Mandy, we are so happy you’ve got your guy back safe and sound. The folks at our weekly church prayer group were just as excited as we were! Many blessings to you both as you get to know each other all over again and have fun on your travels. Can’t wait to see you both when you hit Florida the next time. Love and many prayers still going out for you both, Karen and Phil too!!

Leave a Reply

